Charged with driving while your license was suspended or revoked?
Anyone who is charged with driving on a suspended/revoked license in Michigan knows all too well that driving is a privilege. To obtain more information, please call me for a free consultation at 248-374-0722.
Driving While License Suspended Penalties
If you’ve been driving on a revoked or suspended license in Livonia, Canton, Plymouth or Novi, Michigan, a first offense is punishable up to 93 days in jail and a fine. A second offense is punishable up to 1 year in jail and an increased fine. Also, your vehicle may be impounded and/or immobilized.
Furthermore, the Michigan Secretary of State may impose an additional period of suspension or revocation.
The Good News Regarding DWLS
While conviction is a real possibility, other, more favorable outcomes exist such as:
- Not guilty: A judge or jury could find you not guilty after a trial.
- Dismissal: Your case may be dismissed (thrown out of court) after a hearing based upon some deficiency in the prosecution’s case.
- Plea: You may plea bargain for a reduced charge or lighter sentence.
Defenses may provide grounds for your case being reduced, dismissed (thrown out of court) or an acquittal. Some examples of defenses:
The police must have a proper basis to stop your vehicle.
The police must have sufficient evidence to justify the arrest – they must have probable cause.
Police Officer Errors
Errors in the police report can affect the officer’s credibility. This can greatly weaken the prosecution’s case.
Michigan Locations Served
I handle DWLS and DWLR cases in Livonia, Plymouth, Canton, Northville and Novi, Michigan. Call me at 248-374-0722 for a free phone consultation or email me.