Reversing a License Suspension in Michigan after an OWI – If your driver’s license has been suspended, you may have options you haven’t considered. Reversing a license suspension in Michigan after an OWI may be possible, but it depends on many different factors, including the circumstances of the situation and any past drunken driving convictions.
Trying to get the license suspension reversed can be challenging, however, so you need to work with an experienced license restoration lawyer who can help ensure your rights are protected.
Basic Facts About Suspensions
Michigan state law requires the Secretary of State to automatically revoke or suspend your driver’s license under certain situations, with a license revocation being the most serious and long-term action.
Unlike a license revocation, a license suspension is usually temporary. The most common suspensions have a beginning and end date. Once that time period ends, the driver typically only needs to go to an SOS branch office and pay the license reinstatement fee. Fees to get your license back range from $25 to $125 and may include additional charges depending on the case.
However, other factors may come into play regarding the length of a license suspension, such as medical concerns that would keep an individual from being able to drive safely. In such a case, the suspension may be indefinite until that individual’s situation improves.
Many issues may lead to license suspensions, such as:
- Unpaid child support.
- Outstanding tickets and fines.
- Driving without insurance.
- Alcohol- and drug-related driving offenses and any repeated violations.
- Failure to appear in court or to follow other legal orders.
How to Reverse a License Suspension in Michigan after an OWI
If your license is suspended for an operating while intoxicated violation, it is important to know your legal rights. First, you have several days to appeal the suspension, and you will need to go to court to make your case about why the OWI-related suspension should be reversed.
Warning: Don’t try to do this alone. As with most civil or criminal cases, things can become complicated quickly. That’s why it’s important to have a local attorney who is knowledgeable and experienced with drunken driving cases in Michigan to help you, and that’s where we come in.
Together, we may be able to succeed in completely having your driver’s license suspension reversed. Otherwise, we may be able to get the duration of the suspension reduced. The suspension may also be reversed if you are exonerated during the trial, if one is required.
What Happens If You Do Nothing
If your license has been suspended, it’s important to follow court orders. If you do get caught driving with a suspended license, it would only make matters worse. In Michigan, the first time you get caught driving on a suspended license, you may face up to 93 days in jail, a $500 fine, a one-year probation and/or additional fees.
If you get caught again within seven years after the first offense, you could face up to a year in jail, $1,000 in fines, two years of probation and/or additional fees. Penalties would increase dramatically if you were driving on a suspended license and caused a crash that led to an injury or death.
Getting Your Driver’s License Back
If you are hoping to get your license suspension in Michigan reversed after an OWI, or at least get the penalties reduced, attorney Mark Langschied is here to help.
Request a free phone consultation through our website or call us at 248-374-0722 to set up a time for us to talk. We can discuss the factors in your case and any options you may have.