What follows is some additional information regarding OWI charges in Michigan. Contact a Michigan drunk driving defense attorney for more information.
The Michigan Legal Limit is .08
The legal limit is a .08 breath alcohol concentration at the time of driving. Many are surprised by how few drinks it takes to be over the legal limit of .08. For example, a 120-pound individual who has 3 drinks in his or her body will be over the limit; a 160-pound individual who has 4 drinks in his or her body will be over the limit.
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) and Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI)
With regard to Operating While Intoxicated or Michigan OWI, the prosecution must prove that the defendant was under the influence of alcohol (ability to operate vehicle substantially lessened) or that the blood alcohol level was .08 or more. To prove Operating While Visibly Impaired or OWVI, the defendant must have driven with less ability than would an ordinary careful driver.
Super Drunk Driving Offense
Drivers that test with a .17 or higher blood alcohol concentration may be charged as a Super Drunk Driver. Super Drunk Driving carries increased penalties: a longer potential jail term (180 days), increased fines/costs and a stiffer driver’s license penalty. For example, one year of alcohol rehabilitation is required and your Michigan driver’s license will be suspended for one year. After 45 days of suspension, one may secure a restricted license if they install a breath alcohol interlock device in their car.